The Road to GUADEC 2015; a new face

This year I was at GUADEC (GNOME Users And Developers European Conference), that took place in Gothenburg, Sweden.

It was a nice experience, where I met cool people and seen a little of what Sweden has to offer.

  1. The Flight

It wasn’t a direct flight, so we (me and two other friends that also attended GUADEC) had to make a stopover in Amsterdam. Because we knew this we took some tickets in order to have 5 hours to visit Amsterdam.

The back flight, from Amsterdam to Romania, was more “interesting” in the sense that me and one of my friends were very close to lose the flight because we forget were were the baggage lockers. Luckily, one guy from the airport security knew where that lockers were to be found and we caught the plane. ūüôā

Sorry for the dirty window

2. Amsterdam

When we arrived in Amsterdam, we knew we had to reach Central Station, and from there we could visit some of the city. We spent much of our time walking around at first, but when we returned from Sweden, we visited The Amsterdam Dungeon. Here we walked from room to room (dark and small ones) and different actors presented us some of Amsterdams history.

We also wanted to visit the Madame Tussauds but it was a very huge queue and we had to do something else: Amsterdam is full of tourists.

3. Gothenburg

The final destination. I would stay in this city for 6 days.

In the first day I met my mentor, Tobias Mueller aka Tobi, a very cool and energetic person and later he introduced me to a lot of GNOME folks.

I missed some of the talks, but Bastian did a great job and we all have the recorded talks right here. Thanks, Bastian!

At the interns lightning talks (I had a talk also) I had some emotions, but everything came out good.

In the last days, I participated at a BoF about gnome-shell-extensions and some of the ideas discussed can be found here (I only stayed in my corner and listened to the different ideas).

Also, Oliver took us to a field trip, but a group of 4 people (me included) managed to get lost. We tried to catch up with them, but with no success; somewhere we climbed a small hill, I think there we took another route.

In the final day we went to a park, near where we stayed, Liseberg, and there were amazing rides. The coolest one was the AtmosFear.

In the end, I want to thank my mentor for the good time, Florian Mullner for helping me with my extension and the GNOME Foundation for sponsoring my travel.

“Be the change you want to see in the world.” –¬†Mohandas Gandhi

gnome-foundation-sponsored-badge

Leave a Reply

